Rumelange Mining Museum – Fond de Gras

Departure in the morning to Rumelange. Guided tour of the National Museum of the mine. The tour starts in the “Maschinenhaus” with an introduction about the history of ore-production with ore-samples, fossils, geological maps, tools, pictures and documentation. The walking tour is a journey through the galleries over a distance of 650 meters and you will discover the ore extraction techniques, the daily life of underground work. Way-out through the mine galleries "Kirchberg" and "Walert". Lunch at the museum restaurant. In the afternoon continuation to the Fond-de-Gras with visits of the industrial and railway park and its pub "Bei der Giedel" build in 1881; a very detailed re-construction of the grocery shop Victor Binck from the early years of the last century; the museum Eugène Pesch; the "Minièresbunn" and the "Train 1900" (trips from May 1st to September 28th every Sunday and holidays).
Return to Luxembourg with the possibility to have dinner on the road back.

See the route

Calendar